Big Sister Turns FIVE!

Our girls both have hymns with their names, though with Aleyna, the hymn came first (you can read about Evie’s name here).

We had lost our first child in an early miscarriage the summer before getting pregnant with Aleyna. We were heartbroken and scared we’d lose her, too. I’d been searching for names nonstop, but really wanted something with meaning. One Sunday, after a baptism, we sang ‘Great is Thy Faithfulness’ and the phrase “Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow” stuck out to me. God was always giving us that. The strength to get through the here and now, but also hope for the future. I needed a reminder of that particular promise just then.

I knew there had been some names I had looked at that meant ‘bright’ and ‘hope’ would be such a beautiful middle name. I just loved the idea of our children having a hymn that belonged to their names. A hymn that would encourage them through their lives. We decided on Aleyna Hope and added Clara (which also means bright!) when we discovered that Ty’s grandpa, Clarence, had lung cancer. He died a few days before Aleyna made her appearance.

I always thought of her name and hymn being more of an encouragement to Ty and me, rather than to Aleyna. Until last night, her fifth birthday. I held our oldest daughter as she cried and cried that she didn’t want to get older. She didn’t want to grow up and have to leave us someday, like we left our parents. Aleyna is probably the most change averse person I’ve ever met. Three years later and she still talks about how much she misses our old white oven. A full year with our new bathtub and even though she says the new one is better for baths, she still wishes for the old one back. Could God have picked a more perfect hymn for a child that hates change? A hymn that extols the absolute beauty of our God who NEVER changes, who is ALWAYS faithful. We talked about it last night, how everything in her life, including herself, was going to change over the years, but 10 years, 20 years, 100 years from now, God would still be the same. HE won’t change on her. He will always be just as faithful, just as providing, just as accessible, just as loving, just as forgiving. God knew her when she was still in my womb and knew what encouragement she would need in her life. How blessed we are to have a God like that!

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
There is no shadow of turning with Thee;
Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not;
As Thou hast been, Thou forever will be.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Summer and winter and springtime and harvest,
Sun, moon and stars in their courses above
Join with all nature in manifold witness
To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth
Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide;
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

I made a video for Aleyna’s birthday, too, though she was extremely particular about which songs I chose! I suppose I should prepare for that with Evie as well!  We’re so very grateful for Aleyna.  She is such a joy and we’re so proud to be her parents.

One thought on “Big Sister Turns FIVE!

  1. Beautiful girls. I see so much of you in them, Megan. I’ve missed many friends’ blogs over the past few months but just saw your most recent posts and will be praying.

Leave a Reply

